Always With Us

by Leah R Cutter, Diana Deverell, David H. Hendrickson, Kari Kilgore, Juliet Nordeen, Annie Reed

THIS JUST IN: The story "The Blood-Red Leaves of Autumn" by Annie Reed has been selected to be included in the 2022 edition of the Best American Mystery Stories! 

Crime has been with us forever. Chances are, that even as we approach the age of rocket ships and space habitats, it will follow us.

Crime occurs when someone has. And someone else wants. That essence of human nature is not about to change.

Come explore the future side of crime us in "Always With Us."

Buy Now from MCM

This is the start of the third year of Mystery, Crime, and Mayhem. Be sure to pick up all the back issues as well!



About the Authors

Leah R Cutter

Leah Cutter writes page-turning, wildly imaginative fiction set in exotic locations, such as a magical New Orleans, the ancient Orient, rural Kentucky, Seattle, Minneapolis, and many others.

She writes fantasy, science fiction, mystery, literary, and horror fiction. Her short fiction has been published in magazines like "Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine" and "Talebones", anthologies like Fiction River, and on the web. Her long fiction has been published both by New York publishers as well as small presses.

Read more books by Leah Cutter at www.KnottedRoadPress.com.

Follow her blog at www.LeahCutter.com.

Diana Deverell

A Derringer and Macavity Award finalist acclaimed for “sharp storytelling” (Publishers Weekly), Diana Deverell’s short fiction has appeared in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, Fiction River, Switchblade, Mystery Weekly Magazine, and other publications.

Before moving to rural Denmark to write fulltime, Diana earned her living as a long-haul trucker, beef farmer, youth worker, and hot/cold war diplomat. Those adventures took place in 48 states, two Canadian provinces, El Salvador, and Poland.

In addition to short stories, she writes legal, political, and international thrillers drawing on  her colorful background and featuring women with humor and heart.

Sign up for her newsletter at www.dianadeverell.com

David H. Hendrickson

David H. Hendrickson’s first novel, Cracking the Ice, was praised by Booklist as “a gripping account of a courageous young man rising above evil.” He has since published six additional novels, including Offside, which has been adopted for high school student required reading.

His short fiction has appeared in Best American Mystery Stories 2018, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, and frequently in Heart's Kiss, Pulphouse, Fiction River, and other anthologies. He is a multi-finalist for the Derringer Award, and his story “Death in the Serengeti” was honored with the 2018 Derringer for Best Long Story. He has released two short story collections: Shimmers and Laughs: Eight Wildly Hilarious Tales and Death in the Serengeti and Other Stories: Ten Tales of Crime.

Hendrickson has published over fifteen hundred works of nonfiction, most notably his first book for writers, How to Get Your Book into Schools and Double Your Income with Volume Sales, and also Travis Roy: Quadriplegia and a Life of Purpose. He has been honored with the Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award and the Murray Kramer Scarlet Quill Award.

Visit him online at www.hendricksonwriter.com. Sign up for his newsletter and get a free book! Also follow him on Facebook (facebook.com/davewrites), Twitter (@DHWriter), and Instagram (dhwriter7).

Kari Kilgore

Kari Kilgore started her first published novel Until Death in Transylvania, Romania, and finished it in Room 217 at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado, where a rather famous creepy tale about a hotel sparked into life. That’s just one example of how real world inspiration drives her fiction.

Until Death was included on the Preliminary Ballot for the Bram Stoker Award for Outstanding Achievement in a First Novel in 2016. Kari’s short myth The Spider Who Ate the Elephant placed 2nd in fiction in the 2019 Virginia Writers Club Golden Nib contest.

Her professional short story sales include several to Fiction River anthology magazine, and several holiday-themed anthology projects with WMG Publishing that range from mystery to contemporary to romance.

Kari writes first and figures out the story’s genre later. That results in mystery, fantasy, science fiction, romance, contemporary fiction, and everything in between. She’s happiest when she surprises herself. She lives at the end of a long dirt road in the middle of the woods with her husband Jason A. Adams, various house critters, and wildlife they’re better off not knowing more about.

Kari’s novels, novellas, collections, and short stories are available at www.karikilgore.com and www.spiralpublishing.net.

Juliet Nordeen

Juliet Nordeen is a recovering mechanical engineer who lives and writes in the idyllic forests of the Kitsap Peninsula of Washington State where her Deputy Quinn mystery series is set. Her work -- some mystery, some  speculative fiction, some thrillers -- includes smart characters, living in vivid settings, puzzling their way through twisty-tales.

Juliet's short stories have sold to several anthologies, including Fiction River: Fantastic Detectives, Fiction River: Holiday Spectacular, Stark Publishing's Obsessions, and an upcoming collection of stories about secrets edited by Dayle A. Dermatis which is so top secret that the title is still being held under wraps. You can find out more at www.julietnordeen.com.

Annie Reed

Award-winning author Annie Reed describes herself as a desert rat who longs to live by the ocean. Since she hasn’t yet convinced her family to relocate to a nice chunk of beachfront property, she’s done the next best thing—written a series of stories set in a contemporary Pacific Northwest city where magic and reality go hand in hand.

Private investigators Diz and Dee populate Annie’s more lighthearted stories, while denizens of a much rougher neighborhood lurk in her Tales From the Shadows.

A talented and versatile writer whose fantasy, science fiction, and mystery stories have sold to a wide variety of publications, including five of the first seven volumes of Fiction River’s inaugural year.